Light Reading for the Week of 9/28

20110929-035542.jpg

It seems that with each passing week, my wallet sacrifices a little more of itself to my local comic shop.  This week I picked up The Flash #1, All American Western #1, The Fury of Firestorm The Nuclear Men, Teen Titans #1, Aquaman #1, Justice League Dark #1 and Ghostbusters #1 (the only title NOT in the DC line up.)

Right off the bat, I can say that Aquaman #1 is the biggest surprise for me this week.  Great book, great introduction to the character.  With a bit of humor the trade addresses some of issues people may mock about the character – such as talking to fish, his eating habits, even calling him out on being the least popular hero.

Right behind the sleeper hit of Aquaman, the new Ghostbusters ongoing trade from IDW is excellent.  I’m iffy on the art inside the book, despite the great cover.  The story is a continuation of both movie’s canon storylines.  There is also a surprise at the end of the book that will surely be a problem for the fellows right off the get-go.  Can’t wait to see what they do with this series.

And, if anyone else read Superboy #1 and was wondering how the end of the issue would work across the other titles he would appear in, that was addressed.  The last page of Teen Titans flows right into the last page or two of Superboy.  Another title I’m looking forward to.

Art-wise, (and we all know I’m not an “art” guy as far as criticizing goes) I was turned off by All-Star Western, featuring Dr. Arkham and Jonah Hex.  It was distracting enough with the verbose passages of Dr. Arkham in nearly every thought bubble, but to lay that on top of the art … I think I had a headache by the end of the book.

Story-wise, Fury of Firestorm was a disappointment.  I’m a “noob” to the character, but by first issue’s end I am already considering dropping it from my pull list.  I’ll give it a few more issues, but I’m not satisfied so far.

Justice League Dark was okay.  I’m intrigued by what I read, but still have issues and questions that I hope they cover in the next couple of issues.  The Flash I did not like.  I like the idea of Flash himself, and loved the cheesy television series, but I have never really been a fan of the comic series.

 

2 thoughts on “Light Reading for the Week of 9/28

  1. Pingback: DC New 52: I read All Star Western #1 « All Day Comics

  2. Pingback: ORION Returns with Reviews of DC’s New 52 AQUAMAN #1, OUR LOVE IS REAL #1, and BRILLIANT #1! « All Day Comics

Leave a Reply

