The Weight Loss Challenge

Question: Can I stick to an excercise routine, workout and stay on a diet for more than a day?

Answer: I don’t know.

Plan: I do here by, in front of dozens of strangers and a couple of friends, declare that TODAY IS THE FIRST DAY OF THE REST OF MY LIFE!!!!  Whew, that took alot out of me!  Lemme catch my breath …

Okay, so, when I went to the doctor a year ago, he told me to lose about 50 pounds.  He wanted me to drop more than that, but 50 sounded like a good number to start with.  So here I am a year and 4 months later, and I had actually gained 2 pounds.  Mind you, I hadn’t really lost or gained, but that’s the problem.

My previous position at work had me sitting at a desk all day, and while I understand there are even activities you can do while at the desk, I didn’t do them.  Now, my job requires I sit on a forklift for the majority of my day, still no real movement.  I do get a 30 minute lunch and we aren’t always slammed to the point of no stopping.  So there are opportunities!

Unofficially, I started dieting about a week and a half ago.  When I weighed last Tuesday, I’d lost 5 pounds.  Haven’t weighed this week, but at the same time, haven’t wanted to because I slipped a little over the past weekend.

But here it goes.  I’m officially stating to the world that I plan on losing 50 pounds over the next couple of months.  Can I do it?  We’ll see … I ain’t promising anything!  But I’ll keep a weekly update of my progress, if any, here.

Wish me luck …  I’m sick and tired of feeling sick and tired.

Leave a Reply

