Things Are So Stressful for Everyone

A lot of people are taking some bad beatings right now.  The economy is sucking the life right out of them, and I’m no safer than the next guy.  Today, at work, they’re suppose to be cutting another 20 people from our production crew.  That’s spread across both shifts, so neither shift is taking the full brunt of that cut, but still …  20 people are suddenly going to be looking for a job. 

I’ll be honest, here.  I’m 32 years old and have only held two steady jobs since I was 18 years old.  One was for Wal-Mart, where I worked for 7 years.  Then there is my current employer, where I’ve been at for 7 years come February 4th … and I’m not even sure if I’ll make it to that anniversary date.  I’m scared.  Not for myself, but for my family – wife and son.  Sure, if anything happens, I’ll get out there and bust my hump to find another job, but what about that in between time?

I’ve already been trying.  But everywhere I go – including temp services – are saying that my chances of employment are reduced because of my full-time second shift job.  So, sadly, being employed is keeping me from becoming employed!  Who’d have thunk it …

But, I’ll update on the situation tonight after we see what the bloodletting has wrought …

Leave a Reply

