Brief Thoughts About Eragon: Book & Movie

I was finally able to finish “Eragon: Book I of the Inheritance Cycle” by Christopher Paolini.  While most of the fan sites and forums I visit repeatedly compare its basic outline to that of the Star Wars trilogy (that’s the original trilogy), I can easily over look that.  “Eragon” stood out to me as a very pleasant read once I got into the book and caught on to the writing style of the author.  That’s the big catch for me; if I can grab on to your flow and style in the first couple of chapters, we’ll get along just fine.  But if you try and impress me by using large words or get too descriptive, I feel you’re wasting valuable space that a real story could be going into.

Paolini did a great job of submerging me into his world.  The fact that it took me so long to read the book wasn’t his fault, for there was plenty to keep me interested in, it was my schedule’s fault.  But the job was done and I was excited to see what the movie adaption was like.  We already owned the dvd, my son had it because he liked the dragon on the front (dragons were the precursor to his dinosaur phase, which we’re still in).  So, tonight, I popped in the dvd and settled down to be entertained.

I believe the trendy catchword to describe my experience is: FAIL!

Eragon, the movie, is utter crap, in my humble opinion.  The acting was dull and cardboard.  The story was moved along too fast.  And, while I haven’t read the second or third books yet, there were scenes in this movie that I have no idea where they came from.  It’s like the screenwriters said, “Hey, let’s take what he’s written, tear a giant gaping hole in it, then fill it with some very poorly written @#$^.  This way we can detract from the real story and intercut our drivel with dizzying bits and pieces of the original work that we’re going to smear our fecese all over and present to moviegoers …”

Okay, maybe that’s not even what they had in mind, but you could have fooled me.

If you want to check out “The Inheritance Cycle,” then by all means.  You’d be depriving yourself of good fiction if you didn’t.  But avoid the movie at all possible costs.

Leave a Reply

