The Internet Is A Great Place for Debate

But sadly, I find the debates to not really be debates, but hypocritical bashing of one group or another.  Religion is the biggest bash-fest I’ve come across, and I find it odd.  People claim they are religious (not Christian, but religious) and that they believe in God, but they debate the very words that are written in The Bible.  They believe it is open for change and debate and that it can be updated to accommodate modern times. 

One forum debate that sparked my attention was one concerning the topic of Gay Marriage.  A broad blanket statement was made regarding Conservative Christian groups and how they are so narrow minded and bigoted in their beliefs toward homosexuals.  These same folks go on about their beliefs and interpretations of the Bible and how Conservative Christians manipulate The Bible to spew hatred toward the homosexual population.

First, I do not agree or support homosexual marriage.  I do not believe two men or two women should naturally be together in any sexual relationship.  Call me narrow minded or a bigoted Conservative Christian.  That’s my belief.  If it offends any of my homosexual friends, I’m sorry, but we are all entitled to our opinions.  Mine is based on Biblical reference.  There is nothing good spoken of regarding homosexuality in The Bible. 

1 Corinthians 6:9-10 (NIV): "Do you not know that the wicked will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: Neither the sexually immoral nor idolaters, nor adulterers nor male prostitutes nor homosexual offenders nor thieves nor the greedy nor drunkards nor slanderers nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God."

Leviticus 18:22 (KJV): "Thou shalt not lie with mankind, as with womankind it is abomination."

Leviticus 20:13: "If a man also lie with mankind, as he lieth with a woman, both of them have committed an abomination: they shall surely be put to death; their blood shall be upon them."

My very first encounter with the Biblical truth of it, came from the book of Romans.  From 1:23 to 32 and 8:1 to 15.

None of this is saying that God hates homosexuals.  He loves them as much as He loves anyone else.  It’s the sin of homosexuality that he despises.  So for folks to say that Conservative Christians … or any Christians for that matter, are bigots for posing opposition to Gay Marriage, then they have either 1) not read and understood the Bible, or 2) are changing and adapting the Bible to meet their own moralities.  I do agree, however, that people can get a little out of hand and overly dramatic in their attempts to argue something they find morally objectionable.  There are groups and people out there who take things a little too far and use their religious affiliations to twist the truth that they themselves can’t see.  I don’t defend those people, for they are as misinformed as the next person.

Unfortunately, in our modern world, all of this gets broken down into catch words and group affiliations and entire sects of the population get blamed for the strong negativity of a few.  Left Wing, Right Wing, Republican, Democrat, Conservative, Liberal …  Bah!  Humbug.

There will probably never be peace on earth or good will toward man, especially when we are a culture that constantly blames politics and religion for all our problems.  If every person were to stand up and take more responsibility in their government instead of playing the victim to it, maybe that little issue would quickly right itself.  And if we would quit bashing religion like it was a plague upon the land, perhaps we’d all find some enlightenment that would allows everyone to live a slightly better life.  We weren’t put on this earth to bicker and wallow in sin and complain constantly about how we are being held back by “the man.”  We were put here to live, breath and be as glorious as we can be.  Ignoring our sins and continuing down the same misgotten paths while claiming to be saved and bathed in salvation isn’t helping anyone, only causing more confusion for each new generation, corrupting them more and more. 

Our preacher gave a great message last Sunday.  To make it short, he wrapped up his sermon by noting that the people he looks out upon each Sunday isn’t always the person he’d find should they meet Monday through Saturday.  Everyone goes out and does their thing and lives their life normally on the 6 days of the week they are “free.”  But come Sunday, most people put on a mask and pretend to be someone completely different. 

I agree … 

But I’ve also diverged from my original topic, so I’ll bring it to a close. 

I’m no expert.  I’m just a regular Joe living his life the best he can.  I make mistakes.  I’m not perfect.  I don’t really know anyone who is … not a one, at least on this earth.

But I have my beliefs and what I know to be the Biblical Truths.  I don’t try to twist them or accommodate them into the modern world we live in.  I don’t spare feelings when I know the Bible has told me something is a sin, it isn’t really my place to accept it just because someone I am friends with is doing it. 

It is not for me to judge.  That responsibility falls to another, higher power.  It certainly isn’t to me that anyone will have to answer.  It’s to God.  He’ll sort it all out, in the end, and I hope we all make it to the other side.  Our time here is limited … but once we leave this body, we’re in it for eternity.

 

*Edit*

When I say that people “debate the very words that are written in The Bible,” I don’t mean that they shouldn’t  I suppose a better phrase would have been along the lines of “they ignore the very words written in The Bible.”  

It is our job to constantly question and argue what we read in The Bible, that’s how we grow and better understand the Word of God.  The day we stop questioning and arguing, I feel we’ve lost all intents and purposes for growing as a Christian.

Leave a Reply

