Relaxing Work Day

This is my first day off from Lowes this week, and I was going to celebrate by sleeping in.  My body seems to be adjusting to my new time schedule, however, and I was up and at ’em by 9 AM.  So I hopped up, went to pay the water bill, bought breakfast at McDonald’s and helped Jenn finish mowing the lawn.  Heck, if the dump wasn’t closed on Thursdays, I’d be hauling off some trash, too!  I guess you know you are getting old when you do more work on your day off than during the regular work week.

That aside, we’ve had a few new duties added on to us at Parthenon.  Our boss said it was to show our value to the company, that we can and are contributing to the plant as a whole, and to hopefully save our jobs.  They recently went through another “riff,” which is the ’09 term being used for layoffs.  They even went as far as to eliminate about 90% of our second shift work force, moving the majority of them to days temporarily.  We’ll have another review in August to see what the “next step” will be.  I’ve got my fingers crossed that this is where the Lord will allow me to stay.

And, finally, back to my part time job at Lowes, I believe I have lost about 4 pounds since starting a little over a week ago.  I’ve gotten sunburnt and it is slowly starting to tan.  Mowing the lawn today, I grabbed an old shirt, cut the sleeves out and put on a pair of shorts.  I need that “almost” whole body tan, baby.  Gotta be ready to show off those new muscles I’ve discovered in the last few days 🙂

Leave a Reply

