Learn & Grow To Prevent Repeats

I know I’m opinionated and do not necessarily choose the softest words to express myself. I accept that there are folks that are going to be pissed off and upset by things that I write. It has also come to my attention that some folks will go as far as to ignore you completely if they have been offended, even though they keep you as “friends” in online forums.

All of that is fine. It is the way of the world and one of those things you have to accept as you get older. You can make some of the people happy some of the time, but you can’t make all of the people happy all of the time.

Then there are the people that you actually like and have respect for. You are polite, kind, offer help when it might be needed … and are refused or rejected at every turn. These can be co-workers, family, “friends,” neighbors. No matter their place in your life, they try to avoid you at all costs.

In my case, I wonder what it is exactly that I’ve done to some of these people. To a few, I realize that, in my younger days at my job, I may have tried to cater to the wrong group and angered or hurt some of them. To others, I’m at a loss.

No matter what I seem to do, say or think, they just seem to have an issue with something that has occurred in the past. All I can say is, whatever that was, I apologize and hope it is healed with time. If not, then I wish you well and won’t bother you again.

This message goes out to no one in particular, just a general reflection. Knowing someone is put off by me bothers me greatly. I’m not one to pine for acceptance, but when I know I’ve done nothing to deserve shunning, then I’m offended. So it goes, life continues. Excuse me while I carry on with my weekend.

Leave a Reply

