A Year Later, And Death Knights Still Rule

Blizzard released the second “World of Warcraft” expansion, “Wrath of the Lich King,” on November 13th, 2008.  Now, almost a year later, the Death Knight hero class is still kicking butt and taking names.  Despite balancing issues in the beginning, and even now seeming to be a little OP (over powered), the DK is (in my opinion) one of the more fun and fast characters to play in the “World of Warcraft.”

Don’t get me wrong, I’m a Hunter man, myself.  I do play other classes, as well, so I’m not a strict Death Knight aficionado.  I have an 80 hunter, 72 warlock, 61 paladin and, of course, my 63 death knight.  So, I’m no stranger to other classes, but when I just want to tear through a zone, kicking butt and taking names with practically no down-time, I can log in to my death knight and go to town. 

Of course, if you look at my other, higher level characters, you’ll see I have a love for “pet classes.”  The hunter has a pet, the warlock has a demon, and … for my death knight, I spec’d Unholy so I could have a full-time ghoul running by my side.    I’m a sucker for companions during my solo quests through Azeroth. 

This isn’t a long post, I won’t bore you with the same statistics, lore or mechanics as to what a death knight is, his/her roles and how best to play them.  Simply, I just wanted to comment on how much fun they still are.  I realize that some people still refuse to play a death knight for their own personal reasons.  Maybe it’s because they start out at a higher level, it doesn’t fit their story (for those rp folk), or maybe they have a problem with the kinks in the lore.  Those people are out there, and all I have to say to them is: you’re missing out on half the fun, brother!

Death Knights, be it an alt or a main, should be tried by everyone at least once.  Heck, it took me three tries to get one I was happy with!  I finally settled on Mogathorn.

Mogathorn Armory Link

WoWScrnShot_100509_113441

Leave a Reply

