Thanksgiving Wrap-up

I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving, we certainly did on this end!  It has been a nice, peaceful and uneventful holiday weekend.  Thursday, we went to Jennifer’s grandparents house, the central gathering hub for her family.  Everyone showed up and had a delicious meal of pies, cakes, candies, ham, turkey, dressing … all the good stuff.  We played a couple of games and I cut out for a two-hour nap before going back for an hour or so more before things started to die down.

Then it was time to get down to business.  Jenn, Noah and I came home.  Noah went to bed and Jenn laid down for a nap. Around 11:00PM she got dressed and headed out to pick up her mom.  Yes, Black Friday was about to begin!  They were out from 11PM Thursday night until sometime around noon Friday.  Christmas shopping is done (except for what I still have to get for her.)  I’d like to have had some extra money to blow myself, as there were some outrageous deals on televisions this year.  But, if it holds to history, it’s a sign of dropping prices for the new year to come. 

Once Jenn got home, she took a little bit of a nap in the recliner and then Noah and I drug her to Cheddars for lunch and swung by Target to pick up a few things.  Browsing around, I found they had some $8.99 bluray discs of some pretty decent movies.  But, as I stated in a previous post, Sometimes, You Get What You Pay For.

Saturday, we slept in a bit, then got up and went to Logans for lunch (yes, it was a big eat-out weekend).  Afterwards, we headed to Murfreesboro and hit Stones River Mall where I let Jenn pick out a pair of shoes she’d been wanting (for Christmas, of course, just to torture her by letting her see them, try them on, then wrap them up and shove ‘em under the tree).  We also visited Toys R Us, which was bone bare in stock because they evidently hadn’t gotten a truck in after the Friday ravaging.  Barnes and Noble Bookstore and Bestbuy rounded out the night.  I picked up The Dead That Walk: Flesh-eating Stories, an anthology of short fiction about zombies by well-known and up and coming writers.  Also picked up a couple of CD’s my dear wife has been wanting as well as The Real Ghostbusters Volume One for Noah.  The old cartoon version of the Ghostbusters movie.

We came home Saturday and watched Aliens in the Attic with my mom and Johnny.  It turned out to be a little better than I thought it would be, kind of a cute little movie.

And now we’re here to Sunday.  I slept in while Jenn and Noah went to church and out to eat with her parents.  I’ve dusted, played some games, read a little on my book, invited my mom over to watch Star Trek and almost took a nap.  All-in-all, it’s been an awesome 4-day weekend.  Sadly, it’s also the last day of said weekend. 

Tomorrow, I head back to work, earning those dollars that seem to make the world go ‘round.  It’s a vicious, endless cycle.  But, in 4 more weeks, we get an entire week off for Christmas, so I’ll have plenty more time to catch up on some rest. 

Until then, let’s start working on that holiday spirit, eh?

Leave a Reply

