19 More Days ‘til Christmas

“It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas, every where I go!”

Well, not really.  It could have looked a lot like Christmas Saturday, but for some odd reason the 1/2-inch of snow everyone else got completely skipped us.  It doesn’t really feel like Christmas to me, yet, either.  We have our Christmas tree up, a few knick-knacks set out, gifts wrapped and under the tree, but, as with last year, I haven’t completely let the season overtake me.  I can honestly say that it isn’t the economy or even money that has me shuffling about.  We (my family and I) have been very, very blessed to have not been affected, so far, by the past years economic downfall.  I’ve been lucky enough to still have my job (knock on wood and praise the man upstairs) and we’ve done pretty decent with our money.  It is looking to even be a comfortable Christmas, despite my being off a week without pay from work (well, not just me, but you know what I mean).

Anyways!  It has been a nice and uneventful weekend.  Yesterday, Noah and I wrapped gifts, ordered pizza, popped popcorn and watched “Night at the Museum 2.”  Today, I’ve done as little as possible, taking off some trash, picking myself up a bite to eat (yes, 2 days of buying food, I’m splurging a bit), and cleaned up the garage a bit, digging out what little outdoors Christmas decorations we have.  At some point this week, or perhaps next weekend, we’ll hang our lights, put up a reindeer skeleton, some candy canes and a little Santa train along the front porch.  Aside from that, we don’t go too far out with the decorations, at least, not this year. 

Gift-wise, there is one more thing I’d like to pick up for my mom and a couple of more items I’d like to get for Jenn.  Noah is completely done, aside from any add-ons we might see or hear him mention at some point between now and then.

So, that’s my “personal” post for the weekend.  I hope all of you are doing well and preparing for a great holiday with friends and family.  In the meantime, hang in there and watch as little television news as possible to keep the cheer up and the blood pressure down 😉

Leave a Reply

