Easy As Pie

If you are an achievement junkie, on the Xbox 360 or on PS3, I assume (for trophies), then you should be renting/picking up Hasbro Family Game Night.  It is also available for download via the Live Marketplace.  This is a collection of popular board games most families enjoy playing together, except digitized for us lazy television watching fools :)  It consists of Yahtzee, Connect Four, Sorry, Sorry Sliders, Battleship and Scrabble.  Within 15 minutes of playing the games, I had racked up 10 achievements.  There is also a Hasbro Family Game Night 2, which has a few more selections to choose from.

***

Jennifer made an awesome cake last night.  Chocolate Caramel Cake (with cool whip and chocolate chips.)  Will post a recipe for it later.  I’ve also been enjoying some Rotelle dip my mom made.  That is, a dip with melted cheese, rotelle and ground up beef and sausage.  A bit spicy since she picked up a cheese with jalapenos in it, but it adds to the wonderful flavor.

***

New Years Resolutions – 2010 is coming soon.  I’m still working out my list.  Yes, I know it’s already 5 days in to the new year, but these things take time ;) 

***

I watched District 9 on bluray the other day.  AWESOME MOVIE.  I wasn’t sure what to expect and was afraid the movie wouldn’t live up to the hype I’d heard about it.  I was wrong.  Oh so wrong.  This movie rocks, and it is my favorite of the entire past year.

Also, I finally received my Legend of the Lone Ranger dvd from Best Buy.  I loved this movie as a kid, and it’s hard to find these days.  Just so happens, Best Buy now carries it.  It is a true origin story for the Lone Ranger, starting with him as a kid, how he grows up to be a Texas Ranger, a shoot out gone bad, how he is left for dead and how he rises up to assume the identity of the masked man.  I haven’t watched it yet, so I hope it still holds up after nearly 20-some years 🙂

***

Finally, I picked up, at long last, Book 2 of the “A Song of Ice and Fire” series, A Clash of Kings by George R. R. Martin.  49 pages in and I’m already catching up to speed and loving it.  Martin is a great storyteller, and even though it’s been nearly a year since I read the first book, I feel as if I just put it down.

Leave a Reply

