Checking In

Working, sleeping, blah, blah, blah — you’ve heard it all before.  This time, though, on top of all the usual items I bore you with as to why it’s been so long since I posted, I’ve got a few new ones.

First, I signed up for the open beta of Rift, a new MMO from Trion Worlds.  This was the final beta before release, and I have to say, it is pretty fantastic.  I know every time a new MMO hits the market, it’s dubbed as “The WoW Killer,” but Rift isn’t making that claim.  I’ve played LotRO, Warhammer, DDO, Champions Online … and of course I pay for and play World of Warcraft for the past 3 1/2 years now.  Of all the games, Rift may actually offer the most competition for Blizzard.  It’s fun, the class system and talent trees are deep and from what little of the beginning zone I’ve been able to play, it’s familiar, but wildly different and exciting.  The only thing that has kept me from plunking money down on one of the awesome pre-order deals they’ve got, is the fact that I need to do a little upgrading on my computer first.  Some more RAM and even a graphics card, which is long over due, is on the priority list, especially if I’m going to keep this machine another year.

Also on my agenda the past few weeks and the weeks to come, is the fact that I’ve started the P90 exercise program.  This isn’t the same as the P90X you may have heard people getting hurt by, it’s the slower starting point for folks who want to climb aboard without experiencing boot camp work outs.  This is starting my 2nd week, and while I feel like a pig eating the recommended meals and doing the phase 1-2 workouts, I’ve lost 6 pounds already.  35 minutes a day, 6 days a week, taking vitamin supplements, eating “right” and drinking water ’til it feels like I’m about to burst, I think I found something I enjoy doing and may actually stick with!

Oh, I also purchased an Apple TV.  That’s right, the box you have to pay for to rent pay-per-view movies from Apple’s iTunes marketplace on your television.  It’s a sleek, nice little box with a smooth interface.  No storage on this incarnation, but the streaming has worked without flaw.  The wife and I rented “Unstoppable,” the Denzel Washington/Chris Pine movie about a runaway train, and it streamed beautifully in HD.  It even looked better than most of my bluray disc movies!  Netflix is also super fast and easy to navigate on the device.  The only complaint is the Youtube integration.  The search results are poor compared to what you can find online.  Not sure if this has anything to do with copyright issues of certain content or what, but my wife searched for a particular Bryan Adams music video, and while it came right up on our computer, the Apple TV search of Youtube wouldn’t even list the video.  Oh, and Airplay?  That @#$% is freakin’ magic.  I’m in awe and love the ability.

That’s it for me, friends.  Now I’m off to gather a few berries and lawn clippings for lunch!

 

Leave a Reply

