Movies, Games, Life Events – the Usual Stuff

Hi there!  Everyone, take your seats and let’s get started.

I’m Gaming!

Lego Star Wars: The Complete Saga

A few posts ago, I commented on the PS3. I am happy to say that I am still playing!  Right now my dusty and miniscule collection includes Saints Row 2, Fallout: New Vegas and Lego Star Wars The Complete Saga.  On

the horizon are: Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, Batman Arkham City and I’m also interested in Dark Souls.

On my list of little played games are World of Warcraft, which I am on the verge of cancelling.  It isn’t that I don’t still have fun, but there is just not enough time for it anymore to do anything.  It’s basically came down to a waste of money each month.  Also, Facebook games.  As much as I enjoy the jump in and jump right back out

play style of the Facebook flash-based games.  They are so simple that it quickly becomes time consuming because you are suddenly playing 10-15 of them at once.  A quick glance at Facebook now turns into an hour tending your farm, replenishing your Sims needs, hunting for treasure on an island, etc.

So, PS3 good!  WoW and FB gaming – meh.

Cover of "Hot Tub Time Machine [Blu-ray]&...

Watching Movies (and Television)!

Because I’m already in front of the television after playing a game, my movie viewing as increased.  Just check out my GetGlue check-ins!  Weeds, The Walking Dead, William Shatner‘s The Captains, Monster Squad, Law Abiding Citizen, Captain America, Hot Tub Time Machine, The Roast of Charlie Sheen, Ghostbusters!!!!  /GASP\  Yes, I’ve been getting my money’s worth out of the Apple TV, Netflix and a couple of Blu Ray discs.

Reading Books!

Kevin MitnickGhost in the Wires.  This is the story from the man himself – Kevin Mitnick, the world famous and infamous hacker.  Good book, a simple read but by God I was so tired of the words Social Engineering by the last page that I could have ripped the digital reader in half with my bare hands.

Also, finally finished George R. R. Martin‘s A Storm of Swords.  It lost me there in the middle, but the end picks up speed as you get rolling past a certain point.  Fantastic read, as usual.  Can’t wait to read the next book – but I’m taking a break from the Ice & Fire series for a bit, first.

Events & Stuff!

Halloween came and went with no bumps. Carved pumpkins, Trick ‘r Treated, handed out candy. It was a great time, over all, but I’ve had a cold ever since that night.  Stuffy, congested, runny nose, cough.  Fun times!

Thanksgiving is coming up, which also means Christmas is right around the corner. Can’t wait!  The wife is already wanting to put up our Christmas tree, but I’m holding strong – for now.  The evening of or the day after Thanksgiving is good enough for me.  Besides, as we all know, it’ll start out as a family affair, but in the end it’ll be me throwing up the decorations while Noah is in his room watching television and the wife is mad about something.  Ahhh, holiday traditions 🙂

And, I’ve been working over time at work.  Big surprise there, eh? They get an extra man on days and our work load doubles on nights.  Interesting how that works out.  I guess the 6 of them are just too covered up so the 2 of us on nights have to catch all that overflow.  Because we can handle it, darn it!

It’s not that I’m ungrateful, but I do have other things to do besides sleep a few hours then work 12-14 hours a day because they can’t get a fire lit on days.  I know, I know, paint me a cry baby and send me on my way 🙂

So that’s been my past couple of weeks.  I hope yours is cruising along nicely and that the remainder of the year treats you well.

 

Leave a Reply

