Currently Reading: The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss and …

Yes! I am back on a reading kick. It took me some time, but I had to kickstart my desire to gobble up some words. I jumped on the second book of Patrick Rothfuss’s Kingkiller Trilogy, The Wise Man’s Fear.

Also, I’m trying something slightly different. Because I also have a few anthologies in my reading list, I’m attempting to shove one of those in a night before bed. My little mind may not be able to handle two books at one time, but I’m up for the trial run 🙂 This time around, I’m tackling The Complete Works of H.P. Lovecraft. 102 stories from the author, including short stories, essays, poems, ghost writings and collaborations, all in chronological order of the dates they were originally written. This is available on the iTunes bookstore for $5.99, but I’ve seen some sites that claim to offer it for free. One thing you can’t be too sure of is that there are several e-books out there that may have the same or similar titles, but different content.

3 thoughts on “Currently Reading: The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss and …

  1. Looks like you and I are reading the same book lol. I just finished The Name of the Wind, and, well….let’s just say I didn’t love it. Now I’m working on the 2nd book….but I’m still only in the first few pages. How is it so far?

  2. I’ve only gotten a couple of chapters in, but I am enjoying it just as much as the first novel, so far. My only complaint with the first book, The Name of the Wind, was how Rothfuss beat us over the head with a lead pipe. He REALLY wanted to make sure we understood how poor and desperate his poor hero was. And the female – I’ve already forgotten her name – that he fell in love with while attending college. I seriously hated her more than any other character in the book.

    I’m still fairly new to the fantasy genre. I spent most of my youth reading science fiction and horror, so for me, I’m enjoying everything I’ve read so far. Only thing I’ve found intimidating is the Shannara series. I read the Sword of Shannara (excuse my spelling, I’m too lazy to look it up). The author scares me with his descriptions of locations – they go on for e v e r!

  3. If you find yourself looking for other anthologies or short story collections to devour, Neil Gaiman has a few nice collections of short stories, there are even a few short stories you can read on his website in the extra’s sections.

Leave a Reply

