They Never Cease to Amaze Me

 

With Nintendo’s release of a new 3DS XL and the Wii U just months away, the wife, son and I have been discussing which we find more appealing as a gift for the holiday season. Yes, I know, already discussing Christmas gifts?!. Yes, yes we are. I like to be prepared for these things. Our son is a step ahead of us, though, and surprised us both by insisting he wanted to keep his current 3DS – the small screen. He is interested in the Wii U, though, mainly because of the Wii pad (or whatever it is being called at the moment.) The ability for him to play certain games free of the television is appealing – but, honestly, I see this as a possibility for the 3DS  XL. Why would it not be possible to use the new 3DS XL as a game pad? I think there may be something in the works Nintendo fans haven’t been told yet.

 

So we’re thinking about the Wii U and also discussing when would be the perfect time to trade in his Wii (of which we have 2 because the wife’s parents gave us theirs due to lack of play time) before the prices really start to drop. I know once new hardware is about to be released and especially when it first releases, trade-in prices fall because most people are wanting those shiny new consoles. We went in to Gamestop and asked what we were potentially looking at. It seems $25-30 is the trade value for a Wii at the moment (that’s the 1st generation white console). Yet, for a PS3 with a broken blu ray drive, you can get a good $80 for. Interesting! To make a long story short on the trade-in front, I’m considering taking the PS3 up there simply because I haven’t turned it on in about 3 months. As for the Wii, I sold it for $80 – take THAT, Gamestop. $25-30, indeed …

 

 

 

Now, where do we stand on that Wii U? Oh, yes. It seems the Wii U has been pushed to the back burner. My dear wife and son have, instead, decided they want an Xbox 360 and Kinect. I know, straight out of left field, right? All of this came out of a simple visit to Best Buy, shortly after the Gamestop trip. We were walking toward the checkout when they passed a display of a soccer game for the Kinect. They spent about 10-15 minutes playing the game, jumping around, etc, and when we left the Wii U was a faint memory. I tell ya, my wife and son? They never cease to amaze me. Now, I suppose this could all be attributed to the fact that the Wii U isn’t out and no one can touch it, try it out or see just how good the real games look. But at the same time you have to realize that the 360 is an established brand with a million games, online support and just an all around superior system to something like the Wii – or anything else Nintendo could push out right now. Poor Nintendo is always a day late and a dollar short to the party, and I have a feeling the Wii U is going to be no different.

 

But now I have the horror building in me of a possible Xbox 360 purchase. It’s been a good 2 or 3 years since we’ve had an Xbox in the house. And even then, we went through 2 consoles because of the infamous RRoD (Red Ring of Death). I know the new, sleek, black 360′s are suppose to be much more reliable, but seriously, I’be been burned. I hear the rumors of ads being constantly shoved down your throat at every turn on the Dashboard. But, the games, the established community, the cool features of the Kinect the wife and son love.

 

And between you and me, Dear Reader? I’ve been looking around. Did you know you can buy my favorite game, Fallout 3, with all available downloadable content for $19.99.  Or you can skip the DLC and buy the standard Fallout 3 AND Elderscrolls: Oblivion both for a single $19.99 price. These great games are priced to own and I found myself staring intently at the shelf of our local Wally World. I think you see where I’m going with this. Yes, we are probably going to end up buying a new Xbox 360. And I’m warning you, Microsoft, I’ll be watching closely …

 

** Note – To anyone that may be screaming at their monitor right now, warning me that it’s a mistake. Yes, I realize Microsoft is set to release (or at least announce) a new console next year, but it’s okay. Really. If there is one thing I’ve learned about gaming hardware after having owned 2 Xbox 360′s, is that early adopters usually end up screwed in the end. I base this on a couple of factors: 1) untested hardware out in the wild and not a controlled environment. 2) they’re going to release something better, different or just slightly enhanced a few months down the road. Therefore, I shall invest in this established gaming library, enjoy it for all it’s worth and worry about keeping up with the “new hotness” later when everyone else has broken in the next generation for me and worked all the bugs out.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

