Sad Mama (and Daddy) :)

A few weeks ago, my wife’s brother and sister-in-law had their first child. A preemie, just like our son was! To help them out and save them a little money, my wife and I, this weekend, pulled down several giant Rubbermaid totes filled with clothes. My dear wife is going through all those plastic containers tonight and reminiscing about our sons early years. She’s getting a little weepy and sentimental as she opens up each lid and begins to pull out the tiny pants, shoes and shirts from 8 years ago.

The Passage of Time

It’s a funny thing, time and children. I’ve noticed that the older I get, the faster time seems to pass. I’ve read somewhere that it’s because of the way our mind processes events, which creates the impression in our minds that there just isn’t enough time in a day to accomplish all the things we need done. But when our son was first born, it seemed time moved by slowly – what with the sleepless nights, the crying, the feedings, the diapers. It was never-ending and super tiring. But then, at some point, something happened. I’ve always been one to spend the extra hours at work for over time, always rushing around the house doing chores and helping out, always on the run with errands and whatnot. Then one day you look over at the child eating lunch next to you, and he’s 8 years old, a big boy, no longer a helpless preemie born 8 weeks early and unable to breath on his own. He’s got a new pair of glasses, watching Jurassic Park because he loves dinosaurs, scarfing down food to keep that energy level up and playing Nintendo DS games that YOU can’t even figure out!

What happened? Where was I? When did all this take place?

Life’s a crazy thing, flashing by like a streak of lighting, come and gone and leaving you wondering if it even happened. Sad to watch our children grow up and slowly become dependent. My wife wants to counter this with another child, a 2nd son (or daughter). There will be an age gap at this point, since we’ve waited so long, but as she looks at it: when we’re gone, at least he’ll have a sibling he can relate to and be with and go through life knowing he can turn to. A depressing way to look at it, in my opinion, but one I can sort of understand her stance on. With me, I’m an only child. My family and I don’t really speak, and all I have outside my wife and son is my mom. When my mom is gone, that’s it. Just me, my wife and son. No brothers or sisters to look back on life with, just me. I’m a tough guy, though, always have pretended to be 😉 Manage to fool people 99.9% of the time. It’s all in the frown, you know.

So, yeah. Life carries on. We all grow up, grow older, move on. We’ve a finite time on this earth, it’s one of our jobs to make sure we don’t waste it.

Good day, sir and/or ma’am. I hope you’ve had a great weekend and I’ll see you on the other side of Monday.

Leave a Reply

