The Wheel of Time Series

Listening to the latest episode of The Library Police (episode 89: The Forgotten Essential Authors), I heard the hosts discuss great love for Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time series. What really got my attention is the fact that the upcoming book, the 14th in the series, is going to be the last. A set series run (beginning, middle end) laid out for me is something I absolutely love. Having a series I can start and know that I will be rewarded (hopefully) with an actual ending is one of the greatest things I can think of. Large, epic stories, many pages in which to grow your characters, expand your world, etc.

So, after listening to their praise of Jordan (and Brandon Sanderson, of course – who was selected by Jordan’s wife after his passing to finish the series based on extensive, detailed notes left by the late author), I decided to invest time into this series. Probably won’t be until Christmas or right after because I don’t want to throw anything else in the way of what I already have on my plate.

Anyone else experienced Jordan’s world? Like it? Hate it? Think it’s too wordy or slow?

Leave a Reply

