Is There a Goal You’d Like to Accomplish by the End of 2012?

Of all the goals I set up for myself at the beginning of this year – which seems like yesterday, to be honest – is there one in particular I’d like to accomplish by the end of this year? I’d love to instantly drop about 100 pounds, of course. While I’ve knocked out 95% of my fast food, dropped my cola intake to below half of what it used to be, and only eat about one meal a day – the weight isn’t exactly dripping off

Resolutions and goals
Resolutions and goals (Photo credit: creepyed)

of me. So, one possible goal would be to drop an amazing 100 pounds by December 31st. Not likely, I understand, but hey, they asked and I answered.

Other potential goals I’d like to accomplish: have a couple of million dollars, be 100% debt free, have the greatest job in the world (whatever THAT may be!). Actually, if I had a couple of million dollars, I wouldn’t have any job except maybe a Wal-Mart door greeter (sorry, people greeter), just for the insurance, don’t ya know.

As I’ve said before, I’m not a big resolution or goal person, but I’ll set some on occasion. They may never be heard from again depending on what deep, dark vault I lock them away in before burying them in the back yard, but I’ll make some up. In fact, let’s take a quick look at what I had to say at the beginning of the year. Of course, I’ll also add some snippy little comment to go along with how that’s working out for me so far.

My 2012 Resolution/Goals:

Number One: Be Nice – Well, we can certainly do our best to treat others as we’d like to be treated. I’ve done a fairly good job, though there have been one or two lapses in judgement. I have to admit, considering how fast this year seems to have flown by, I have been pretty darn nice. This has been achieved by the old, If you don’t have anything nice to say, say nothing at all method. I’ve been mighty quiet this year. Of course, we’ve got about 2 months left in the year, so there is always the chance of a relapse.

Number Two: Be Debt Free – I’m closer than I was at the beginning of the year! My problem is, I’m a sucker. If my wife or son looks so much as depressed because something is just out of their reach, I’ll go buy it for them. I know, I know, you can’t handle your finances like that. But at the same time, Dave Ramsey’s method isn’t exactly fool proof, and I’m just the fool to prove it! Rice and beans my Aunt Fanny … although, that might have killed two birds with one stone. Rice and beans every night could have helped out with Number Three, too! Darn it!

Number Three: Weight Loss – Well, I have lost some weight, but not as much as I’d like to have lost. I’ve been slacking, just recently – as in the past two or three months – picking up a little steam. Still not getting enough exercise which would make all the difference considering all the things I have cut down or cut out of my diet completely.

So, three goals. One I’ve nearly accomplished, the other two a falling in around 9th and 10th place in the race. Sadly, being only three of them, 9th and 10th aren’t exactly good spots … But I’ll stand by my hopes of bring the weight loss count higher up the the ladder before 2013, holidays be darned!

One thought on “Is There a Goal You’d Like to Accomplish by the End of 2012?

Leave a Reply

