4 Favorite Christmas Movies (because 5 is an over-used number)

In all the years I’ve been typing on this blog, my favorite Christmas movies has never been a subject. I don’t think. So, which movies are my “must-see” or “go-to” movies of the holiday season? Well, I’m glad you asked! In no particular order, they are:

Santa Claus: The Movie (IMDB) – Back in 1985 we were given the biggest magical event of my lifetime. A real, live action movie

English: A postcard from 1919, with artwork of...
English: A postcard from 1919, with artwork of Santa Claus and Mrs. Claus. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

detailing Santa Claus and how he came to be. The first half of the movie introduces us to Mr. and Mrs. Clause and their mortal life, how they come to the North Pole and how Santa comes to be. The second half features Jon Lithgow and Dudley Moore as the villain and his un-knowing, innocent sidekick who almost ruin Christmas. Santa Claus: The Movie may not have held up to the test of time and movie making, but I consider it one of the better tales of St. Nick, right up there with the animated Santa Claus is Coming to Town.

National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation (IMDB)- My absolute favorite “Vacation” movie. If I even need to explain this one, then you, my friend, have been hiding under too many rocks. It runs on television about like A Christmas Story does these days. The odd thing is, if you look it up on IMDB, it displays the search result as “Holiday Vacation.” Political correctness gone too far?

Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town (IMDB) – This animated classic is another look at the life and times of Kris Kringle. This one is a bit different than the live action imagining of Santa’s life, but no less fun. My son and I watched the just this passed weekend, as a matter of fact. To push the interactions even further, Gaylord Opryland sponsors the ICE! event every year at their hotel, and a couple of years ago Santa Claus is Coming to Town was the theme. Giant, life-sized ice sculptures of key scenes from this flick were beautiful.

Scrooged (IMDB) – Bill Murray as an Ebenezer-type network exec. Need I really say more? If you’ve never seen this movie, check it out, especially if you enjoy slightly dark humor.

So there you have four of my favorite Christmas movies. There are others I enjoy catching if they’re on the television, but no others that I go out of my way to watch. As a side note: I’ve never seen more than 5 minutes of It’s a Wonderful Life, really can’t stand A Christmas Story or Home Alone, and I think I might have seen A Miracle on 34th Street once (the original).

How about you?

Leave a Reply

