I’m Shaking My Fist

Continuing with yesterdays short blog post about creating an audio podcast, I’d like to say that the free WordPress blogs are just no help. I’m not complaining about this fine site, I appreciate my free WordPress blog and am thankful they offer the option. But when you want to grow it, expand out into other areas, they want the money, I guess. From what I’ve been able to find online, and what little I’ve experienced, WordPress.com blogs tend to get a little confused when it comes to audio files. Pictures are great. Videos linked from Youtube or other online sites are cool. But if I try to throw an audio embedded file up here, it just starts freaking out.

I’ve discussed it with a friend and I think I’ll go the route of having a separate area just for a couple of audio posts. For now, I’m just experimenting with all of this and seeing where I can take it and what it can do. Who knows, we may even end up doing that much talked about podcast we have wanted to do.

Right now, though, I’m going cheap on the set up. Archive.org hosts files for free. Blogger.com will let you set up, embed and give you a nice RSS feed. Feedburner will convert all of that to nice iTunes friendly (as well as other sharing media sites) information. Right now I’m out “zero” dollars for everything I’m wanting to do. Even Garage Band, which I will probably use for recording, and my headset mic I already have, so no money invested there.

I may be boring as heck, but I’m excited to try something new.

Leave a Reply

