What I’m Playing

Work, what a drag, am I right? The past 2 weeks have been pretty rough, work-wise, with the days really kicking my butt. Even this past week – a nice, short four-day work week thanks to the Memorial Day holiday, tried to do me in. With people out of work on vacation and one guy on bereavement leave because his father passed away, it just wasn’t a pretty week. Throw into that mix a gentleman who is sort of on the last legs of his career, going on about 20+ years with the company and in the mindset of, “Hey, man, I’m just riding it out until retirement.” THEN, take that and mix in the part where he gets extremely moody when he starts getting stressed out and voila! Instant crappy week.

Thankfully, I’ve got my video games to escape to. Not that I’ve much felt like playing anything – what with working 14 hour days, oh, except for this past Friday where I worked 16 hours, came home around 7 in the morning, slept ’til noon then got back up and went in for another 8 – oh, happy days!

So, what am I playing right now that helps ease a little of that stress? Well, let me whip out the old gaming list, here.

On iOS, I’m playing Dark Avenger, a dungeon crawling game that requires an internet connection as it has live chat and multiplayer abilities – kind of like Diablo 3. It’s a basic hack-n-slash with real-time PVP, epic loot, customizable combat abilities. I really don’t know much about that last part, but I’ve been playing here and there for a few minutes at a time. It’s a fun little distraction when you’re in need of a quick fix.

XBox 360 – Lego Indiana Jones, The Original Adventures. Dr. Jones and Lego. I picked this up as a 2-pack from Gamestop. It came with Lego Indy and Kung Fu Panda. My son and I like to play the Lego games together, but I’ve been playing this one a bit more on my own since it’s usually late at night after I get home. I’ve actually had to look up some solutions to a few puzzles because this game is a bit more difficult than I am used to in a Lego game.

And on my Mac, I’m still enjoying Minecraft. Continuing to add to my creative mode game, I’ve also started a survival mode adventure. My son enjoys playing this on the Xbox, and I play with him, too, but we don’t agree on design choices 🙂  I like to build a giant, good-looking house and he likes to put torches all over the ground, make diamond mines nearby, scarring up the landscape, etc. I’m a little more picky than I probably should be.

So nothing fancy, just a few simple games to kick back and relax with after a long, hard day. Maybe next week I’ll swap over to some movies in my Netflix queue and give the games a break. Meanwhile, if you’ll excuse me, I have to go build something.

One thought on “What I’m Playing

  1. My son and I have been playing this game almost every night since we got it a little over 2 weeks ago. It is a lot of fun and closely mirrors the movies. The different levels are a lot of fun to try and figure out ways to get through. It is a little slow at times waiting for the “movie” parts to run but it really is a fun game. If you like the movie series you will enjoy playing this game. Be prepared to figure out ways to get through the levels as it isn’t the most intuitive however it is made to require the players to think their way through the game. My 9 year old son has gotten a little frustrated at times but worked through them using patience. We have just finished 20% of the game so as much time as we have played it we still have a long time to go. The other nice thing is the game always you to start new games so my son can play by himself if he wants, save his game and we can continue on our game. Currently we have 3 different games saved which is a nice feature.

Leave a Reply

