Same Old Story, Same Old Ending

I talk constantly about wanting to lose weight, but never do anything about it. I write goals for the New Year, and forget about them a day or two later. Plans are made and actions taken to lead up to a diet and exercise routine, then quickly abandoned. I’m a life-long dieter. No serious motivation, only laziness and “maybe one day …” attitudes.

Two things have happened recently to slowly ramp up my motivation. The first, is that during a visit to my doctor, he ran some blood work and sent the results to me a few days later. It seems he’s classified me as a “pre-diabetic.” From what I’ve deduced and he has explained, this means I am a boarder-lined Type 2 diabetes candidate with my eating habits and inactive lifestyle. I’m on a medication called Metaformin, which I take sporadically because I tend to forget my meds from time to time.

Secondly, my wife, out of the blue, decided she was going to lose weight. This seemed to coincide with my visit to the doctor, so it’s possible it could be related, she’s never really said. Either way, she started off by going cold turkey on her usual foods and immediately began to see the results. She has since picked back up on her eating, but in a much more healthy way. She is trying more foods now and expanding her personal menu of items to order or buy at the grocery. Plus, she’s exercising! Every evening my wife and her mom go walking for about an hour – and when I say walking, I mean speed walking.

So what does this mean for me? It means that I need to do something. Anything. I make my declarations, like this one, then never follow up on them. What is going to make me get off my butt and break that cycle of inactivity? Heart attack? Diabetes? Some other health issue? I don’t know, but I hope enough will power can be mustered to never have to find out.

Thank you for reading one more post about how lazy I am and how much I need to get off my butt and lose a couple of pounds. I will thank you for any kind thoughts and/or prayers and should I achieve any portion of this, I’ll certainly be posting about it in the future.

Good day, sir and or madam!

One thought on “Same Old Story, Same Old Ending

  1. I hear ya man, I need to get out and start exercising or doing more myself. In the past oh, 2 years or so, I’ve went from around 175lbs to about 260 now. I’d like to get it back down to a more manageable 185 or so. It’s hard to do that when you don’t get much exercise and you sit behind a desk for 8-9 hours a day.

Leave a Reply

