What I’m Playing (September 9, 2013)

This weekend, I have raided the bargain bins of Gamestop and came home with a bag full of goodies. Oldies but goodies, I suppose I should say. I’ve reached into the past and pulled out about half a dozen games to pop into the Xbox 360’s disc tray. They aren’t all winners, depending on who you ask, but I’m open to some old favorites and some new (old) titles I haven’t played before.

Turok – I keep referring to this as Turok, the Dinosaur Hunter, but this title is simply called Turok. But it does have dinosaurs. And he’s hunting … It’s another FPS, this one set on a planet with dinosaurs, renegades and guns. It’s actually pretty hard, so far, and we’re playing it on normal. Not sure I really like this game, but we’re only a little ways in so I will give it a chance.

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 – My son and I have been having a blast in playing the team death match feature in this game. Sure, we’re playing it split screen, but that doesn’t dampen the fun we have of hunting each other down in the decent variety of maps. We’re both new at first person shooters such as this, and neither of us is all that shabby.

Marvel Ultimate Alliance – I loved this game back in the day when it first came out. Now, however, you can see the age on it, but it’s still fun – in my personal opinion. I wanted a Marvel game to hold me over until the Marvel Lego game comes out. I’m pretty sure if I look into my old GamerTag, I can find some DLC for this title, such as the Heros and Villains packs.

Darksiders 2 – This game is brand new to me. Never played the first Darksiders, but heard good things. The sequel caught my eye this weekend and I scooped it up in the heat of my shopping spree. Only played a few minutes, so far, but I’m a little put off by the crazy climbing and jumping mechanisms. Looks good, so I’m hoping I’ll be able to overlook those aspects of the gameplay.

Crackdown – I loved this game when it first came out, and while I never played the sequel, I was sorry to hear that part two received some severely negative reviews. The original Crackdown, though, still has just enough spark in it to ignite my nostalgia for the first time I played it. Since I never finished the original game, I’m anxious to dig into this one and relive the good old days.

Stepping away from the Xbox 360 and looking at other platforms, I’ve been playing a few other titles, some casual, some very retro.

On the Wii U, my son and I have been playing Nintendo Land and Super Mario Land, which was originally released in 1991 on the Super Nintendo Entertainment System. It’s available in the Nintendo eShop for $7.99, and it’s still a beautiful little game with the catch tunes of my youth.

On the Android platform, in a much more mobile and casual form, I’m addicted to Bingo Blitz and have been getting extremely frustrated with Words with Friends. WwF is Scrabble, for those that don’t know, and it’s a turn-based game. It annoys the !@#$ out of me, but it’s still challenging enough to keep me coming back to the table and playing with my Facebook friends.

Finally, on the Mac, I’ve been playing Minecraft, of course. If you’ve been hiding under a rock and haven’t seen our Let’s Play videos on Youtube, please go check them out. They’re getting better, I promise! And Origin has finally released 2013’s version of SimCity on the Mac. I’ve been tinkering around with that as well and just recently opened up a multiplayer land. I’ll post details later if anyone would care to join me in developing the region. I have one neighbor already and I believe it has a total of 16 slots available for play.

And that’s it for me. These should keep me busy until Playstation 4 comes out and the Christmas holiday swings into full force.

What are you playing?

Leave a Reply

