Time to Regroup and Double-Up the Efforts

Last night I hit a tiny little bump in the road of my attempts of evolving a healthier lifestyle. I know I’m a grown man, but to hear an even older co-worker degrade you or call you names takes me by surprise sometimes. This particular incident came from a 50+ year old gentleman who is known to be very opinionated and open with his thoughts, but considering it came right out of the blue it was still a bit of a surprise.

Imagine walking along, having a decent night, everyone seems to be getting along when suddenly this older adult sees I am looking for something in our warehouse and starts laughing out loud and asks, “Whatcha looking for Shamu?” Making a reference to my weight.

Already use to this one guys personality, I didnt even bat an eyelash, despite almost the rest of our job consisting of him giggling every time he would look my way. It’s the behaviour one would expect on a grade school playground when the bully is trolling for a victim.

Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t break down and cry or run and hide or anything. I am still, as I started with, a grown man, but it still knocked me back a step or two considering how hard I’ve been working to better my health and lose some weight.

I am an emotional eater, but I have handled myself well today and kept my mind and food in check. Now my goal is to step back, rethink where I’m going and double up on my efforts to get there. Haters and bullies be damned, I left those people in the dust long ago. And to those that never outgrew their bad habits, I have stronger words for you. Out of respect for others and my goal to keep this blog fairly clean, I won’t type them.

To those that have been supportive, thank you very much! I do appreciate every bit of it.

One thought on “Time to Regroup and Double-Up the Efforts

Leave a Reply

