Back in the Saddle Again

This is my first official week back on my fitness plan. As I believe I’ve mentioned before, being sick the past – well, pretty much the past month – has thrown my schedule completely out of whack. As such, the first thing I did Monday morning was wake up, grab a pack of peanut butter crackers and a bottle of water to fill my stomach with, and then headed outside to mow the lawn. After completing the front yard, I stopped and came inside and began preparing our lunch as well as what I was going to take to work that night. After cleaning up the kitchen and feeding everyone and packing away my work meal for travel, I headed out to finish up the backyard. I felt great, had an awesome time at work and was on top of the world!

Then I woke up Tuesday morning and was sore from head to toe. Our yard isn’t huge, I guess it’s about average as far as lawns go, but push mowing the front and back after nearly four weeks of inactivity felt like I’d done a heavy workout. I know, what a wimp, right? I had no idea that was going to happen and felt slightly embarrassed by it. Either way, the damage was done, so I took it a little easier the second day. Now we’re moving into good old hump day, and while I nearly slipped on my eating Tuesday, I quickly adjusted and prevented what could have been a total disaster. I’m not proud of that, just thankful for the thought crossing my mind.

It’s been a good week as far as skipping on the fast food, as well. Cooking at home – though some meals may seem questionable, they’re still within what I’ve deemed good enough for my plan – and taking my lunch for work at night is the key to my particular goals. It’s the at work periods that prove to be one of my two weak points. The second is coming home at night and stopping myself from attacking the pantry to eat everything in sight.

Am I pleased, so far? Yes, but … there is still much repair work to be done and a long road to haul.

Leave a Reply

