My Health in Review for the Week of August 10, 2014

Welcome to my Sunday blog post! Here I shall regale you with successes or failures in my attempts to improve my health and maintain a exercise and fitness routine. I’m interested in sharing via other methods, which will be revealed over the coming weeks, starting this week, so be warned!

Last week …

I mentioned that I’d fallen off the old wagon during my bout with a sinus infection and bronchitis. While wallowing in my excuses, I proclaimed that the week to come would see me doubling up on me efforts and regrouping to kick it into a new gear. Well, that went as well as could be expected. Our house has been a bit hectic (as has many, I suppose) with school starting back, my wife once again babysitting and our own new 3 month old on top of all other things. Believe it or not, one thing we sacrificed in an effort to save time last week was actually going to the grocery store. This isn’t a good thing when you’re a fat man dealing with eating issues. So we did eat out a bit more than usual over the last 5 days. Not as bad as it could have been, but not exactly anything to write home about.

While the week continued on at a subpar level, it was about Thursday when I started smacking myself around. I headed over to my new favorite website, Nerd Fitness, and began reading up on their many different articles and posts concerning different dieting methods and success stories from members. What I walked away with in the early hours of Friday morning, was what I’d like to think of as Phase Two of my attempts. Sounds dramatic, right? I know, especially when you take in the success and failure I’ve dealt with so far in the first half of the year. I talk a good game but when it comes to playing it, I tend to suck!

This week …

So as of this past Friday, I reiterated my intent to stick with the Intermittent Fasting plan, in which I eat my meals between the hours of 12pm and 8pm each day, and fast for the remaining time until the next 8-hour period rolls around the next day. On top of that, I’m continuing my 2 mile walks 5 days a week, taking the weekends off. Monday, Wednesday and Thursday I’ll incorporate a few extra exercises in to my routine, including the use of some dumb bells.

The biggest change coming into this Phase Two is attempting to incorporate the Paleo Dieting plan. I’m going to take this route in the hopes of cutting down/out the grains, soy, beans, a majority of dairy and trimming down/out the refined sugars and other processed foods I’m use to consuming. I’m not a fitness expert, nor have I consulted one, but this is based on what I’ve read and what I believe myself capable of doing if I put my mind to it. This grand scheme I’m concocting in my head may not be ideal to the professionals out there, but to me it seems like something I can make headway with.

In future Sunday posts, I’ll present to you my stats, meaning I’ll compare the two weeks for you as far as previous weight, current weight, what my biggest set back was and how I plan to work around it. I also plan on opening up my Fitbit account to the public so that you can also check my progress there, should you be curious as to what I’ve eaten on my diet, how my calories vs. burn compare and other interesting tidbits the site provides. As I said, I want this to be as transparent a process as possible because, even if I fail miserably in the end, I want others to see the journey and hopefully either learn from it, or at least know what to steer clear of.

So that’s me in a nutshell this week, ladies and gentleman. I’ll see you on the other side of the week. Have a good one and take care.

Leave a Reply

