It Is Your Destiny (My Week in Review)

This last week, I’ve gone and gotten sick again. I’m normally a healthy guy, but allergies and then the dramatic drop in temperatures at night have slapped me around a bit. Not that I’m complaining about lower temperatures! Happy to have them around and hope they stay for awhile. That hasn’t stopped me from getting in some game time, though.

10636231_10152610899910971_8187832354848664279_n

Destiny launched last Tuesday, 9/9 and I picked up my preorder before work. As luck would have it (my luck, anyways), I didn’t get to play that night when I got home. Wednesday, though, I installed the game and got an hour in before another night of work. My wife kindly allowed me to get in some alone time with the beautiful world that night, however, and it was great. Of course, it’s repetitive as it is the exact same missions we played through in the Open Beta they had a month before. The only difference is, the loot drops are far and few between.

One thing that confuses me about Destiny is the loot. Or rather, the gear and the level requirements. For example, I collected 2 pieces of gear. Both are arm slot items. One is Level 1 with 28 defense. The other is Level 5 with 19 defense. When you compare the two, the Level 1 armor is still better than the Level 5. Why even have a level requirement at all if it’s not going to affect the item’s stats? Of course, I’m going to stick to the Level 1 with better defense.

Other than that, I am enjoying the game and can’t wait to get further into it, venturing out into the solar system. But more so than Destiny, I’m playing the heck out of Diablo 3 on the PS4. Tonight I hit level 63 on my demon hunter and am ripping through campaign mode and adventure mode. I played my first Greater Rift the other night and picked up a nice legendary drop. Diablo 3 is a great game, I just hope they can keep the console version refreshed like they’re doing with the PC/Mac version by adding cool features such as Seasons and Ladders for competition.

I also managed to watch tonight’s (Saturday, 9/13) episode of Doctor Who, titled “Listen.” This was my all-in episode. This is the episode I’ve been waiting for to pull me along and hook me for the rest of the season. Great performances by everyone involved, a fantastic story by Moffat and a really cool guest appearance (of sorts) at the end. My only issue is that we never found out just what we were listening for because it’s pretty obvious, I think, that there was something there.

As for tomorrow, I have some chores to do around the house. After that, though, I’m hoping it’s a good time for some gaming. Other than that, it’s been a great weekend, so far, and I hope you’re having one also.

 

Leave a Reply

