37 Days ’til Christmas, You’re Welcome!

That’s right. Thirty-seven! Can you believe it? Not only is the holiday knocking on our front door, but this year is almost over as well! 2015 is peeking around the corner, over by the garage while Christmas is trying to push its way into our front door. Well, maybe that’s a bit of a scary image, actually. Kind of like a home invasion depending on how you look at it. Either way, it’s closing in on us fast, and I’m not complaining.

We put up our Christmas tree tonight, officially making our house Holiday 2014 Ready. It is officially The Holidays in our household and I’m sitting here typing this in the glow of the beautiful multi-colored lights of the tree. But as I said, the year is almost up, which brings me to the real topic of this post: how are those New Years Resolutions/Goals working for you? Have you been a busy bee and stuck to what you set out to do this year? Did you fall off the wagon a few times? Or did you do what I did: fall off the wagon, tumble down a very steep hill, hit rock bottom and bounce a few times before going over a waterfall and crashing onto the edge of a cliff that chipped away under your weight and then plummeted several thousand feet to land in front of an on-coming train unable to move out of its way while constantly looking over your shoulder to make sure none of those resolutions were trying to sneak up behind you? 

Well, some of that may have been a bit exaggerated, but not by much.

I came close to achieving success at one point this year with at least one goal. Weight loss. Believe it or not (because I did blog about my attempts in boring detail) I had started to lose weight about mid-way through this year. I was exercising, eating better, had eliminated nearly 95% of my soda intake, was drinking the crap out of water and enjoying myself. Then I got sick and stayed that way for a good month. Went to the doctor numerous times and finally, but the time I got it cleared up, I’d begun that downward spiral. A course correction was attempted, but by then our 2nd child was born and I was basically just lying to myself and trying to make it believable enough to not feel guilty. But you all probably know this. I’m a repeat offender.

You’re probably also tired of hearing me talk about it.

But.

Here’s the thing.

I know I can be a better person.

I can be a healthier person.

I can achieve anything I set my mind to.

I just have to try.

TRY.

I stumbled across a meme on the internet that basically said, “Why half-ass two things when you can take your time and whole-ass one thing?” The point of the question, I reckoned, was to ask why you would split your time into two directions knowing the results will be of shoddy quality when you can focus all your attention on one thing and make it successful. At least that’s what I’m shooting for in the meaning, anyways. Close enough.

Where was I going with this?

Oh yes. What I have been thinking about this weekend is this: Why am I trying to “fix” myself in so many different areas? Yes, I need to repair those parts – weight, over all health, finances, relationships, career paths – but I’m splitting them all up into separate tasks and overloading myself. The old, not enough time in a day problem when thrown in with what’s actually happening around me. Perhaps what I need is to be more realistic about this whole thing. I don’t need to repair each of those things individually – they aren’t individual parts to be repaired. They’re one whole part of a whole (yet broken) man. I know I have problems and I try to spread them out and fix them one at a time when in reality, they all require one focused force to be put to work in patching the cracks.

Does that make any sense? I hope so because it’s a cohesive thought in my head, hopefully that transfers to this blog post. Or maybe I’m just grasping for straws. Either way, I began the year unmotivated. I hit the middle mark full of energy and hope. At some point, I lost my steam and fell from the graces of success in my efforts. Now, bringing up the rear of the year, I hope to at least find my footing again.

Here’s to you, Dear Readers. Thanks for your support. Thanks for reading this blog when you have time. And thanks for putting up with me for what is almost an entire year once again.

And now, I’ll leave you with a glimpse of our tree from tonight. 🙂

10152377_10152753335110971_2093527609479725228_n

Leave a Reply

