Vacation Blog: Day Sixteen

This is it. The last day. The end is now, ladies and gentlemen. Christmas Vacation, for me, is officially over at midnight tonight. Tomorrow when I wake up, it’ll be just a matter of hours before I hop in my trusty automobile and head to work. It’s both horrible and fantastic at the same time. You know what I mean? I’ve been off so long that I don’t want to go back, but at the same time, I’m so ready to get back to the daily routine. Besides, most importantly is that the money will build back up. Having two weeks and a paycheck that is cut a few hours sucks!

I can’t say I’ve really had that rest and relaxation that I hoped for leading up to the first day of vacation. My wife has made sure that I’ve been on the run or had chores to do around the house the entire time. So while I won’t be sorry to see that left behind, it also wasn’t a horrible experience. If I’d just laid around for 2 weeks, I imagine I would have gotten bored eventually. I doubt it, but you never know.

This weekend did allow me time to play some Dragon Age: Inquisition, finally. We also whipped out our old Uno, Skip-bo and Yahtzee games to play Friday night. The Wife nearly went crazy from being at home all night, but we were able to reel her in with the games between just the three of us. We also got her hooked on the Wii U for awhile, playing Captain Toad: Treasure Tracker and Super Mario World (from the old SNES days). She seemed to honestly have fun with that.

New years Eve we attended a get together at her brother’s house, where they attempted to teach me how to play Rook. Ugh! I do not like that game. And we also played a fun little game called Sequence. I won’t describe it, just look it up and buy it, it’s fun. And finally, yesterday evening, I did some more work around the house, ending in 3 loads of laundry to fold and put up.

Today, I really need to take down the Christmas lights outside. Still haven’t gotten to that because, well, I’m lazy and kept putting it off. Now it’s raining and I really don’t want to go out there. Maybe tomorrow before work. Yeah, that sounds about right! Also today, I’m thinking some Domino’s Pizza might be a nice lunch treat to start the week with. And, of course, there’s the last 4 episodes of Z Nation’s season one I need to wrap up and clean off the dvr.

Overall, it’s been a great two weeks off work, despite not getting all the rest I was hoping for. But, as with most vacations, I’m ready to get back on schedule because I know it can’t be avoided. Anxious to get back to work and see what’s been going on since I left.

Leave a Reply

