Two Months Destiny Free

As hyped as I was for the release of Bungie’s Destiny massive multiplayer online first person shooter (mmofps) I can honestly say that after 2 months, I haven’t missed it. It quickly became repetitive and just wasn’t up my ally as far as shooters or online games go. Maybe that’s just the World of Warcraft snob in me speaking out, but it got old quick. And even now, reading about the updates – or I suppose I should say expansion packs, I’m still underwhelmed.

Yes, Bungie says there is something like an 11 year plan with Destiny, but at the rate their going, I’m not sure if it’ll make it to 11 years. Maybe if they just give the game away, or drop the price to about $20 and throw in a couple of updates, maybe they can rely on micro-transactions to save it. But right now, I’m glad I traded my disc in for the credit while I could.

I hear folks talking about playing Destiny on Twitter, but there is a lack of that same excitement. They talk about their grinding to get levels, faction points and gear. Heck, there are better games to waste that time on and for better rewards and end game without the broken mechanics.

But that’s just my opinion.

Does anyone else feel the same way? Or am I being unfair toward a game that launched less than a year ago? Should a game like Destiny be given leeway to improve upon itself (whereas other games would be considered broken if released as Destiny was) or am I being fair on my critique? Please, feel free to let me know. No hard feelings.

One thought on “Two Months Destiny Free

Leave a Reply

