First Impressions: Bloodborne (PS4)

I’d like to write you a nice blog post about my impressions of FromSoftware’s Bloodborne, a PS4 exclusive title. However, that won’t be possible. Why? Because all those reviews you might be seeing online saying this game is not for the casual gamer are all correct. I can play stealth games, I can play shooters, I can play action platforms with puzzle solving elements. But Bloodborne is heartless in its difficulty. It can even be brutal if you don’t know what you’re doing or decide to rush headlong into every fight. But, it’s not a bad game at all!

Bloodborne is beautiful, the atmosphere set up by the visuals and audio is breathtaking. The sounds passing enemies make by scrapping their scythe across the floor makes me shiver. It’s top notch console horror. I haven’t been this creeped out by a video game since the first Resident Evil or Silent Hill game. All that praise aside, though, and Bloodborne is still too difficult for me to play. Doesn’t mean I did’t want to pick it up and try it out, and I’m glad I did because it is an experience everyone should at least be exposed to.

Alas, this was probably my last day with the game. If I’m not going to be able to advance and maneuver my way through the levels at a decent pace, and am going to spend the majority of my time waiting for the load screens telling me I’m dead, I don’t have time for that. Time is valuable, and if I can’t easily advance through a game at a sensible pace, then it’s just not for me.

So should you pick up and play Bloodborne? Well, like I said, I think everyone should at least experience it. It’s a remarkable game that evidently had a lot of love go into it. But if you aren’t patient, or can’t stand dying every few minutes, then you should definitely skip this game. If you are frustrated by having to start entire levels back over because you didn’t make it to that next save point, then you should skip this one.

On the flip side, if you love difficult games, like a good challenge and prefer to duck and dodge between blows, this is your game. It really is beautiful, and you owe it to yourself and the developers to at least give it a try. As for me, though, I’ll stick to my easier casual games.

One thought on “First Impressions: Bloodborne (PS4)

Leave a Reply

