Bored to Death

While I’d normally jump at the chance to take a vacation and hang around the house – this week wasn’t exactly what I’d have in mind in doing so. Sitting and laying around the house with staples and bandages and a painful “hold it all in place” binder thingy is the farthest thing away from enjoyment. That said, I do feel better as of today considering I had surgery exactly 7 days ago, and I’m looking forward to attempting to go back to work Monday. Yes, my doctor wants me to take a full 3 to 4 weeks off, but let’s be realistic here. With my situation, taking unpaid time off work just isn’t in the books. Luckily I had just enough time left to get paid for this last week, but now, I’m screwed the rest of the year.

All that said, if nothing else good came of this week, I can at least say two things happened. First, I had time to think about how to carry forward from this point on that will both be better – I hope – for my family and for my own self. And second, I had a small creative spark the other night and have managed to write out 3,032 words on a new story.

For the first thing I mentioned, the wife and I talked it over and consulted with some other folks, and we’re going to do what we think is best for us in the long run, considering some items of personal interest. As for helping me, myself, I’ve talked with a friend and he’s offered me some advice and motivation on getting “clean” and getting off my butt and moving. By clean, I don’t want anyone to think I’m referring to drugs or alcohol, I’m simply talking about my health and body-wise. So Monday, all of this will begin together and start yet one more attempt at a new chapter of my life. Wish me luck!

The other little thing in this post – my creativity – was just a little itch in the back of my brain. Something was rattling around in there for a day or two, but I couldn’t get it to come out. So I took some advice from another blog I read somewhere: I just started typing. I would type a word or two, delete it, close the program. Open it back up, close it. Open it back up, type a sentence, close it without saving. Finally, I began writing about this guy walking down the street. He walks down this street every morning on his way to work. Every morning, he passes this bum asking for change. Every morning he tips the guy a dollar, not to be nice, but just hoping it’ll keep the guy from ever harassing him. Then, one day, the bum grabs him and says something odd. He seems a little upset, but our every day guy hurries off. That’s when the story starts changing into something completely different and launched itself into a whole new direction that I didn’t realize I was going in.

What I find incredibly interesting is that what came out of those first few sentences, busted through the guard rail and changed lanes a time or two and was suddenly on the same track toward a series of ideas/stories I’d written way back in my earlier days! I know, right? It’s crazy how something in our brains can click over and connect two unrelated ideas, bring them together and form something completely different, yet familiar enough to look at and say, “Yea! That’s mine!” So hopefully in the coming weeks I’ll have something new to share with those that are interested enough to read it.

But for now, I have to get back to being bored. Time’s a wastin’ buddy.

Leave a Reply

