The End of 2015 In Review

Hello, Friends! I’ve been away for awhile, it seems, popping up briefly, here and there, to publish a blog or two, then vanishing again. So, in this post, I thought I’d give a quick run down of just what it is that I’ve been up to in this last quarter of 2015. It’s nothing exciting, mind you, but I figure it’s a heck of a way to resume my blogging.

First and foremost, I suppose, is the fact that in September, I professed that Jesus Christ is my savior, the Son of the Living God. I repented, confessed my sins and was baptized. That’s a big step for me. I’m 39 years old – will be 40 in February. But I couldn’t deny it or fight it any longer. Too much had imageshappened to me over the months leading up to the moment I stood up and walked down that long aisle to our pastor and told him I was ready. Things that I feel happened just might be looked upon as coincidence, or even craziness by some, but I tell you that the signs were undeniable to me. And for those that feel the need to say, “Well, I’m glad you found what works for you.” Oh, brothers and sisters, I didn’t just find what works for me, I found the only way. There is not a doubt in my mind about where I stand in the presence of Jesus, God and The Holy Spirit. There is testimony with words and descriptions that my simple mind can’t begin to properly express, and even my wife looks at me with an odd expression when I try to relate them to her. But hear me, it’s the best decision I’ve ever made.

Secondly, our company finally found buyers. For over a year our parent company has had us up for sale. The rumors of being put on the market precede the actual announcement by about a year and a half, but in January of 2015, we were officially told that our parent company was removing their claws and putting us out into the wild. After being left in the dark, sweating, worrying, stressing out, wondering what would Parthenon-Duskbecome of our jobs, our families, our insurance, or very method of surviving – we finally received word that we were being sold/bought on December 22, 2015. Just a few days before Christmas, our new owners signed the paperwork and took control. Now, as of this blog post, we still aren’t 100% sure how good of a thing that is, but I have as positive an outlook on it as most. I believe we’ll be okay. Will there be some changes? Yes. Will there be some changes we don’t like? Probably. If those changes affect our way of life too deeply, like, say, a pay cut, then we’ll just have to deal with that when we’re able. But I’d rather have a job, receive a pay cut, and be getting paid while I’m looking for something better than to just up and quit or be fired and do without.

Thirdly, I sold my Playstation 4. That’s part of a larger story I may tell in the near future that is closely connected to my first point above. But, going into the Christmas season, all of these video game deals began popping up. Consoles were going for under $299 with games packaged in. My mom agreed (yes, I said my mom,) to let me use her Amazon credit account to pick up an Xbox One. I know, right? Going from 6156KIdNMQL._SL1004_a PS4 to an Xbox One actually wasn’t a huge deal, aside from throwing away all the great games my son and I had put time and energy into. Here we are, though, Xbox One owners, and I have to say that Microsoft just knows how to take care of their gaming community. From the new announcement of backward compatible titles, to Game Hubs, to their excellent Live! service. Oh, and Games with Gold! Can’t forget Games with Gold and the fact that all their 360 released games going forward will all be backward compatible with Xbox One. We’ve had the console less than a month, and already our 500GB hard drive is nearly full and we’ve got so many games it’s ridiculous. Our selected bundle, by the way, was the Gears of War Ultimate Edition set. It also came with Call of Duty: Black Ops 3 packed in, and we added Fallout 4 to the deal. More on all of these titles in the weeks to come.

On the television and movie front – no, no I haven’t seen Star Wars, Episode 7: The Force Awakens yet. At Supergirl_1920x1080_586896_640x360least, not at the writing of this blog post. I have watched a few movies and television shows, though, and I’ll go into much more detail about that over the next few weeks. Among the things I’ve watched are Lucy, Neighbors, Heroes Reborn, Doctor Who, The Flash, Supergirl, Powers, AND I finally finished watching Daredevil after all this time!

Finally, there’s all the business with being sick – as I usually am twice a year. The annoying cough that won’t go away, the sinus infections. The medicine that never works the first time they give it to me, etc. I’m glad that’s over with for the moment. I don’t know how things work in your family, but at least one of us is always sick some a holiday or special event. This year, it’s a close race between all four of us.

Like I said in the beginning, nothing exciting as been going on, but that’s my end of 2015 review. I look forward to an even better 2016.

– J

Leave a Reply

