31-Day Proverbs Challenge

Since January 1st, I’ve been participating in a 31-Day Proverbs Challenge. It consists of simply reading a chapter from Proverbs each day, from the 1st to the 31st. This is convenient because there just happens to be 31 chapters in Proverbs! As of this blog post, it’s Day 13, Chapter 13. Chapter 13 continues into a third day of contrasting the upright and the wicked.

Since the first chapter, I’ve made it a point to post along each day on Facebook the day, the chapter, a reminder that it’s from Proverbs, along with the length of verses. For example: Day 13, Chapter 13 (Proverbs 13:1-25) Contrast the Upright and the Wicked. Then I’ve been making brief little comments about what’s going on in the chapter, ending with a snippet of text that has caught my eye. Finally I’ll post a link to the chapter from the YouVersion The Bible website.

I’ve gotten a Like or two, here and there, but I have no idea if anyone else is actually The-Book-of-Proverbs-4056_l_d60fcd45c1f53749following along. That’s fine, of course, I’m not here to force anything on anyone, I just thought it would be fun to have others participate and comment on what I/we were reading. I’m part of a larger group on Facebook, which is where the challenge came from, and that’s what we’re doing on the group level of our readings each day. Each person will quote the section that struck them the strongest and we’ll discuss it.

This is my first time reading through the Book of Proverbs, and I’m amazed at what I’m reading and how contemporary it is despite how long ago it was written. Lots of common sense comments, unfortunately we’re not always dealing with folks that have a lot of that common sense at any one given moment.

But I just thought I’d throw the same challenge out here, on my blog. Sure, we’re 13 days in, but it’s still not too late to join in, play catch up or just go on at your own speed. If you do decide to jump in and start may I offer a piece of advice? If you find it difficult to follow along, the words trip you up or you’re just not understanding any of it, don’t be scared to look it up on Google! There are lots of study aides for Bible Study, entire books written describing each and every verse.

After looking it up and learning what you can about the book, the chapter, etc, maybe you can read through the chapter again with the new information. I find it best when I pray before doing anything else, asking for guidance in understanding the Scripture I’m about to partake and how it can/does apply to my life. How can I take what I’m reading and apply it daily to my walk with Christ in the Word? Afterwards, another prayer never hurts, asking for that guidance again.

Finally, if you jump in and decide to pick it up and participate, get others to join you! It’s more fun to have another person or group to discuss it with afterwards. Something you’ve read may translate stronger on someone else’s heart. You might have missed what they quickly picked up on.

So let’s get started! Day 13 for me. What day are you on?

Leave a Reply

