Slander, Gossip, and Evil Speech Against Others

This is the one problem I fight most with while in the workplace. I can try to blame a short temper, other people, etc, but the truth is it always comes back to me and the ability to control my own tongue.

I need to recognize my own triggers, pray for patience, and stop anything that may encourage others to continue should they start. Too often I hear the words, “I’m only human, we make mistakes and are going to fall.” But that’s become more of an excuse when it’s laughed off and the backbiting continues.

I didn’t start the week out with a goal, but after tonight, my “new” goal of the week is to try and stamp out this bad habit. No matter if there are tiny “truths” to what is being said, there’s a time and a place to discuss people, as the article below explains, but just down right running them into the ground isn’t one of them.

James 3:2 – If we can control our speech, we can control all areas of our lives.

Link: Slander, Gossip, and Evil Speech Against Others from GospelWay.com

Leave a Reply

