What I’m Playing This Week

It’s 1AM on March 1st, 2016. I’ve gotten off work, come home, taken a shower and am sitting at my laptop with an ice-cold glass of Minute Maid Lemonade. I also have no idea what to blog about, despite having not blogged since last week. So! I’m going to do the good old fall back, what I’ve been playing blog post. And it’s actually some pretty current stuff for a change!

Far Cry: Primal is out and about on our Xbox One. I admit, I’ve never played any of the previous Far Cry games, so I’m coming into this one fresh as a new born babe. This takes place back in the days when fire was something new and magical and only a few knew how to wield it properly. I’ve only played up to the end of the first real mission, where the last thing you do is gather herbs to help your new female friend.

far-cry-primal-2015106184023_1

While I watched Twitch and Youtube videos before the games release, I wasn’t really impressed. Poking spears and aiming bow n’ arrows at people just looked ridiculous compared to the games we’re used to. You know, going in guns blazing, hi-tech gear all around you. I was pretty darn sure I wouldn’t be getting this game. Turns out, I did and I’m enjoying what I’ve played so far, which isn’t much, admittedly.

406-transformers-devastation-boxart_1435141722

Another game I picked up on a whim, my son and I have discussed on and off over a year. Transformers Devastation is a fighting game that looks just like the old 1st Generation Transformers cartoon we enjoyed as kids. It’s beautiful to watch. Unfortunately, it’s also repetitive to play through. Still early into this game, but right off the bat I didn’t like the fact that you could only play as 5 characters – all Autobots on top of that. Optimus Prime, Grimlock, Bumblebee, Sideswipe, and Wheel Jack. Three of those are pretty cool, but the other two seem kinda out there and I’m curious why they were selected. Regardless, it’s fun just to watch the smooth cartoon animations at your control and to see where the story is leading you. Repetitive, but then again, so where all those old cartoons, basically, so maybe that was the vibe they were going for. The game retails for $50, but I picked it up used from GameStop for $30, give or take a few dollars for the Pro Rewards discount, if you’re a member.

I’ve been wanting to get back into Hand of Fate. I had started streaming this particular card/action-type game and have a total of two episodes on my Youtube Channel. Time hasn’t been on my side, though, and I’m behind in my episodes. That’s something I hope to remedy this coming weekend, if all goes well. So while I haven’t actually gotten any HoF playtime in, count on that to be coming soon, as well.

Sitting by the wayside because I just have too much of a backlog to handle it all, is Fallout 4, Lego Dimensions, Call of Duty: Black Ops 3, and Gears of War Ultimate Edition. This isn’t even including all the Xbox 360 backward compatible games we’re getting every month for being Gold members. Ugh! I need more time!!

On the mobile front, I’m still – for some odd reason – playing Clicker Heroes, Marvel Future Fight, and a new game I found called Shop Heroes. In Shop Heroes, you play the NPC that runs a shop where adventurers come to gear up. You have to upgrade your equipment, level up your crafting skills and try to supply customers as they come in with (very repetitive) requests for staves, swords, daggers, etc. There’s also a city leveling aspect, which unlocks perks in your shop, as well as an Inn where you can send hired hands out on quests for rare materials. Check it out, if it sounds interesting!

That’s my gaming week. How’s yours?

-J

 

Leave a Reply

