Shin Godzilla (Godzilla Resurgence)

We had three theaters in our area that were offering the limited time showings of the latest Godzilla movie from Toho (brought to us via Funimation)! While not a continuation of their line of movies, this serves as a new reboot in this modern day and age. It also serves to introduce us, I guess, to the birth of Godzilla as we are familiar with him by showing new … erm … sides? of his evolution. There’s also some cool special effects, cool new design ideas implemented into the monster, and mass devastation to Japan.

Both the boys loved the movie, subtitles and all. I’m sure for a Japanese Godzilla movie, it was awesome, but I personally kept dozing off through most of the movie. Godzilla is on screen just a bit more than his latest U.S. incarnation a couple of years ago. He does cause much more destruction, but it wasn’t enough to keep me interested. After the first 30 minutes of flashing everyone’s name, title and government office across the screen, it got old quick. The majority of the 2 1/2 hour running time was just people talking and arguing over what was happening, guessing what was going to happen next, cursing their failures, and plotting new methods of eradicating the giant mutated beast. I got a headache, honestly.

Overall, an entertaining way to spend a few hours with the kids, but I’d be just as happy waiting for the dvd release and saving the money.

shingodzilla-400x600-box-office

2 thoughts on “Shin Godzilla (Godzilla Resurgence)

  1. Trailer was very cool. Movie was good, too, I’m just being a bit harsh. If I hadn’t had to read all the arguments (and don’t get me wrong, I’m not against subtitles) it might have made a difference in my opinion, too.

    If/when a version comes out with voice over, I think that’ll make a big difference. Too much going on with too many people involved in the discussions.

Leave a Reply

