Kong: Skull Island (PG-13)

aHR0cDovL2ltZy5tcC5pdGMuY24vdXBsb2FkLzIwMTYxMjMwL2Y1YThiN2Q3OTI2YTRmODY5ZTM3OGNkZjFjMTdkNmIzX3RoLmpwZWc

Kong: Skull Island (2017) – 2h – Action, Adventure, Fantasy

Synopsis: A team of scientists explore an uncharted island in the Pacific, venturing into the domain of the mighty Kong, and must fight to escape a primal Eden.

MPAA: Rated PG-13 for intense sequences of sci-fi violence and action, and for brief strong language.

Kong: Skull Island is, 3 months into 2017, the best movie I’ve seen this year. Understand, however, that I’ve only seen 2 movies this year. Of those two, this one is amazing. There’s actually a good story, great acting, and it’s played as a serious action drama, not cheesy and goofy like the 2005 version. In fact, I’d just like to forget that one even exits, especially after seeing this film.

K:SI continues in the Cinematic Universe creation process of slowly merging with other monster films. As many fans of the monster movies know, there’s going to be a new American Godzilla coming in a year or two, and this film serves as a continuation point from the 2014 film and lead-in to the next big screen version in 2018 or 19. In fact, stay until after the credits (which seemed incredibly long) to see a setup for future films.

Kong would have been perfect as a Summer blockbuster because it had all the makings. Big guns, explosions, action, Samuel L. Jackson, you know, the things you just expect in a movie these days! The characters were totally believable, the details of Monarch and their mission, the military involvement, the true purpose of their visit, etc, are excellent reveals and draw out the story. I’ve never even been a huge fan of John C. Reilly, but he was fantastic in Kong.

Great movie, great story, great characters. Go see it, it’s pretty … great.

4 thoughts on “Kong: Skull Island (PG-13)

  1. I have seen a lot of mixed reviews for this one, but the overall note is positive. I always judge movies for myself, but I know I am going to enjoy this one. Great post, glad you enjoyed the movie so much 😊

  2. I really didn’t like the last Kong movie. Aside from not being a fan of Jack Black, I can’t recall the other things that I disliked, but I have to say I am looking forward to seeing this one. I love the idea that there is now a “Monsterverse” in cinema. Someone told me the next one is “Godzilla, King of the Monsters”. Was going to see Skull Island anyway, but now am really excited for it

Leave a Reply

