Grazing On Some Grass

After years of saying it was hogwash and you could pretty much do it any way that you wanted to, I’ve turned over a new leaf in my constant attempt at a healthier life. To be exact, I’ve made the following changes to my daily routine.

  1. I’ve started eating a light breakfast every morning. This is after years of not eating anything and skipping the meal completely. As a result, I stay full and satisfied longer throughout the day, it seems.
  2. I’ve replaced one meal a day (lunch or dinner) with a salad. The salad basically comes from one of the pre-bagged iceberg lettuce salad kits, and I add grilled chicken and shredded cheddar or mozzarella cheese. No dressing.
  3. On top of the sodas that I’ve managed to continue avoiding (in fact, it’s to the point that if I even try to drink a soda, I feel sick and it tastes horrible), I’ve also added 99% of the breads and chips/snacks I used to eat. Once in awhile I’ll eat a couple of chips or have a snack (and by snack I mean sweet stuff), but not regularly or as often as I used to. If I eat too much sugar now, my stomach begins to hurt and I feel nauseas.
  4. To go with #3, I’m snacking on healthier stuff twice a day. I’ll have a snack after lunch, and maybe one with or before dinner. Those snack choices being fruits, veggies, or nuts of some sort. They help with the sweet tooth cravings when I get one, but are still no substitute at times for that heavenly processed sugar rush.

I’m ashamed to say, however, that I’m not exercising like I should. I walk an average of 4,000 steps a day, Monday through Friday, at work, but actually getting out and hitting the pavement for exercise is rare. As a result, I suppose, I’m not really losing any weight. I’m not eating any more than I was before I started eating healthier, but I don’t seem to be shedding the weight at all. I’m maintaining a 1,500 calorie or less goal a day, eating healthier foods, not eating junk or processed foods, walking a decent amount at work, but not seeing any results.

Most people lose 5-10 pounds just cutting sodas out of their diet, but I haven’t even had that result. Blood work and physicals all come back normal, so there doesn’t seem to be anything that’s detectable from those means that’s hindering any progress. So, is the lack of regular exercise causing my stalemate at weight loss?

Example of my daily meal:

Breakfast: 3 large eggs, scrambled, 3-4 slices of bacon

Lunch: I’m usually still full from breakfast because of my schedule, so I may skip lunch.

Snack: piece of fruit or recommended serving of nuts

Dinner: salad as described above

Snack: fruit or nuts

Once every other day, after work, I will eat a recommended service size of bran flakes because, well … to be honest it just helps me stay “regular,” if you know what I mean šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

