It’ll Be Too Late for Regrets

I was reminded tonight that I “use” to do X, Y, Z, in the past. I “use” to be like this, that, the other, in the past. That’s all true and good. I did “use” to do those things and be that way.

Know what else I “use” to do/be, in the past?

I use to be 26 years old at the time in question. I was ignorant of the world even at that ripe old age. I had a good job and making money I could blow every weekend. I had a wife I loved and would do anything for, and the most awesome son in the world. There were times when we would put our new baby to bed and sit up at night playing Canasta, Aggravation or watch a movie. We’d eat popcorn, have a Coke and just hang out together.

I never worried about house payments, medical bills that keep piling up, being laid off from a job I’ve been at for over 15 years. I was 128 pounds lighter, wore clothes I liked, enjoyed other people’s company even when I didn’t act like it. I was able to get around better, didn’t get winded standing up from sitting down, wasn’t on blood pressure medicine with the threat of a heart attack looming around every corner. My joints and bones didn’t ache and I could sit down and stand up without groaning and listening to my knees pop and grind. I never had to worry about getting the money to have a new roof put on, new windows, doors, building on a spare room, keeping 2 vehicles running. I never had to wonder when I could just sit at home with my family and watch a movie or play a card game or eat popcorn – all of us together at the same time – without having to synchronize our schedules or wonder if one of us was going to be rushing through it to get to the next “thing” we needed to do.

A lot has changed. But a few things are still the same. I still have a wife I love and would do anything for, and now I have 2 of the most awesome sons in the world. And sometimes, in the early hours of the morning when I first open my eyes and see daylight peeking through the slits of our bedroom blinds, “sometimes,” I still feel a ray of hope and all the cares of the world are lifted from my shoulders.

But yeah, nothing will ever be like it was back then. It’s not meant to. And when I am confronted with how much “I’ve” changed, I wonder if anyone else realizes that “I’m” not the only one. That’s life, I guess. We all live it. Every day. It don’t stop, but when it does, it’s too late to take back any regrets.

Love y’all. Be good.

3 thoughts on “It’ll Be Too Late for Regrets

  1. Yeah, I think I know exactly what you mean. I have trouble with accepting change as well, and thinking that some things will never be as they used to be. Some changes are for the better, but there are also changes I could do without. Like losing best friends, losing things you loved to do, etc. But at times it’s best to accept it, no matter how hard it is. And over time, things will get better, or at the very least tolerable. Keep clinging to the stuff you still have and love, because that is what really makes life worth living. Hang in there😊

  2. No doubt. I didn’t mean for it to come across that I was feeling down about it, but someone else close to me seems to be living with how things “used to be.” Can’t seem to make them understand that situations change, people change – not necessarily for the worse, but we just grow and adapt to our situations.

  3. That is absolutely true, and I agree with you as well. It is almost impossible not to experience changes in your life, no matter how much you might want to avoid it. However hard at times, it is usually best to embrace it 😊

Leave a Reply

