Top 5 Stephen King Movie Adaptions

69325-stephen-king-coleccion-e-books-pdf-2277-mlv4321010843_052013-f-700x350

Stephen King has a large body of work. Over the years, filmmakers have tried to bring those magnificent works to life on the big – and small – screens. I would say they did it “for the fans,” but considering how pretty much all of them turned out, I think it’s safe to say they did it just to capitalize on King’s name. With that said, there are a handful of big releases that were nearly perfect, in my humble opinion, and here is my Top 5 list of those adaptions:

  1. Misery – This movie always stands out above all others, for me. It was the first and greatest adaption I remember watching from one of King’s novels. Bates and Kahn were amazing.
  2. The Shawshank Redemption – Who doesn’t like this movie, right?
  3. Stand By Me – A must-see coming of age drama, and about the only thing I can stand more than 5 minutes of with Wil Wheaton in it.
  4. The Stand (mini-series) – Because, honestly, what are the chances they’ll ever do this again, or do it right?
  5. The Dead Zone – Just a ordinary guy tasked with saving the world.
  6. The Green Mile (my honorable mention to keep from having a tie) – “I’m tired boss – mostly I’m tired of people being ugly to each other.”

I haven’t included short films or Youtube fan films, although there are some good ones out there. What are your Top 5 Stephen King movie / television adaptions? What are some good short films of his you’ve stumbled across? Please share.

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Stephen King Movie Adaptions

  1. It’s been such a long time since I watched the Stand. I recall enjoying it at the time, though I think I would want to watch it again. Shawshank – brilliant film. Green Mile – Brilliant film. Dead Zone – I watched some of the series and enjoyed. Weirdly, never seen stand by me. I think my favourite King stuff though is IT (I know, bandwagon, but true) and Salem’s Lot. I quite liked the Mist, film and TV adaptions too,

  2. Mist was very good, especially that ending. Haven’t seen the series yet. The first half of the It mini series was great, 2nd half was ok, but not as good as it should have been with that range of stars cast.

Leave a Reply

